

## GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA Dupont Circle Advisory Neighborhood Commission 2B

May 20, 2022

Mr. Frederick Hill Chairperson Board of Zoning Adjustment 441 4th Street NW, Suite 210S Washington, DC 20001 bzasubmissions@dc.gov

RE: 1736 Swann Street NW (BZA #20737)

Dear Chairperson Hill,

At its regular meeting on May 11, 2022, the Dupont Circle Advisory Neighborhood Commission ("ANC 2B" or "Commission") considered the above-referenced matter. With 8 of 8 Commissioners in attendance, a quorum at a duly-noticed public meeting, the Commission approved the following resolution by a vote of (8-0-0):

WHEREAS, Dr. Charles Samenow, the applicant for Board of Zoning Adjustment (BZA) application #20737, is seeking support for special exceptions from the lot occupancy requirements to construct a two-story rear addition to an existing, attached, two-story with basement, principal dwelling; and the rear yard requirements to construct an exterior stair to access a terrace located atop an accessory garage at 1736 Swann Street NW, zoned RA-2 and located within ANC 2B01,

WHEREAS, ANC 2B's Land Use Committee (LUC) reviewed the requests for special exceptions at its duly-noticed monthly meeting held both in-person and via Zoom on May 4, 2022,

WHEREAS, the BZA hearing on this project is scheduled for June 15, 2022,

WHEREAS, the LUC recognizes that the applicant has received positive feedback from adjacent properties and neighbors, and

WHEREAS, the LUC believes that the relief sought is in harmony with the general purpose and intent of the zoning regulations and zoning maps and will not tend to adversely affect the use of neighboring properties.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that ANC 2B supports BZA application #20737 for 1736 Swann Street NW as presented on May 11, 2022.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that ANC 2B's support is contingent on the applicant working with neighbors to jointly prepare a plan for construction staging to avoid blocking the rear alley and adjacent properties throughout the buildout.

Commissioners Meg Roggensack (<u>2B01@anc.dc.gov</u>) and Matthew Holden (<u>2B08@anc.dc.gov</u>) are the Commission's representatives in this matter.

ON BEHALF OF THE COMMISSION.

Sincerely,

Wetter Hold

Matthew Holden Chair